These Monsters Aren’t Scary!

Standard

I have had Monster Cookies once in my life when I was super young and I still remember how delicious they were.  I have printed this recipe out several times to make them and some how I always end up making my trusty brownies instead.  I think I am intimidated to try this new recipe out and part of me is fearful that they will not be as good as I remember…… but I promise I will make these this weekend and seed back an update.  If you try these out before I do let me know how it goes and please send some encouraging words to break me of my fear!

* recipe can be found at Recipe Girl blog.

 

 

Monster Cookies

Recipe Girl’s Monster Cookies

  • 1 1/2 cups creamy or chunky peanut butter
  • 1 cup packed light brown sugar
  • 1 cup granulated white sugar
  • 8 Tbsp (1 stick) unsalted butter, softened
  • 3 large eggs
  • 1 Tbsp vanilla extract
  • 4 1/2 cups quick cooking oats
  • 2 tsp baking soda
  • 1 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips
  • 1 cup M&M’s plain

 

 

Preparation:

Preheat oven to 350°F. Spray cookie sheets with nonstick spray, or line with parchment paper or a silpat mats.

 

In a large bowl, combine the peanut butter with the sugars and butter. Use an electric mixer to mix until well combined. Mix in the eggs and vanilla. Mix in the oats and baking soda. Then stir in the chips and M&M’s.

 

Drop the cookies by heaping spoonfuls onto the prepared cookie sheets. If you’d like your cookies to look pretty (like the photo), dot a few extra M&M’s and chocolate chips on each mound of dough before baking.

 

Bake 10 to 12 minutes. Do not overbake. Cool for 5 minutes on cookie sheets until cookies are set. Transfer to wire racks; cool completely before storing in an airtight container.

Leave a comment