Today is the Day!

Standard

Will has made a goal to start his 2013 right (starting TODAY) by eating healthier and working out.  I cook healthy for the most part, but I am guilty of adding cheese, extra oil, bread, etc. to a lot of our meals.  I was looking for a recipe that seemed like a hearty/warm casserole but that I could devour guilt free and thanks to Green Lite Bites I have found just that.  Will and I usually try to stick to a meatless Monday mentality and in all honest we are meat free more than 1/2 the week.  This recipe is meatless and looks to be super appetizing.  I can’t wait to try this out while we are tuning into the Biggest Loser tonight and I will keep you posted on how it turns out.

 

Zucchini and Spaghetti Squash Lasagna squashLasagna

  • 2 cups Homemade sauce (or your favorite red sauce)
  • 1 medium zucchini thinly sliced
  • 2-2 ½ cups cooked spaghetti squash
  • ½ cup fat free ricotta cheese
  • 3 oz fancy shredded mozzarella cheese
  • Ground pepper
  • Dried parsley flakes

 

Preparation:

Preheat the oven to 350°.

 

In a casserole dish, smear a little of the sauce on the bottom to prevent sticking then begin layering zucchini, top with a bit of squash, dab on ricotta (I crumpled the best I can to cover the area), sprinkle with a bit of the shredded cheese, add some sauce repeat until you are out of ingredients (end with a little mozzarella on top).

 

Cooking Spaghetti Squash

You can either microwave spaghetti squash or cook it like I do.  To cook: Cut squash in 1/2 lengthwise.  Scrape out seeds and drizzle with olive oil, salt and pepper.  Place cut side down on foil lined baking sheet.  Cook for 1 hour on 375°.

One response »

  1. This recipe was better the next day. It was def. more flavorful after it sat overnight. I would cook this again when we are trying to be extremely healthy, but it definitely tasted healthy so just keep that in mind, enjoy!

Leave a Reply

