What I had for dinner last night……..

Standard

I am trying to get back on track with working out and sometimes that means I have to pre-plan our dinners.  Last night I knew I wanted to go to yoga, but that usually means I don’t get home to get dinner started until after 7:00 pm.  By that time I just want to clean up, eat, and go to bed……… not cook a healthy meal for Will and I.  SOOO with all that said I actually thought ahead and had dinner waiting on me (mostly) when I got home.  Thanks to the slow cooker we had a fantastic meal and due to the fact that I actually experimented with the rice and threw in some extra spice it was amazing.  I hope you all try this one out and enjoy it as much as we did!

 

Crock Pot Rotisserie Style Chicken

* recipe can be found at Food.com

pic2UsGrQ

  • 1 (4 -5 lb) whole roasting chickens
  • 3 tsp kosher salt (less if you like, this amount approximates the saltiness of the store bought kind)
  • 1 tsp smoked paprika (you can use regular, I like the smoked flavor)
  • 1 tsp onion powder
  • 1/2 tsp dried thyme
  • 1 tsp Italian seasoning
  • 1/2 tsp cayenne pepper (omitted)
  • 1/2 tsp black pepper
  • Garlic
  • 2 Lemons
  • 2 Tbsp butter
  • 1 yellow onion, halved
  • 1 cup Texamati Brown Rice
  • 1 cup chicken broth, low sodium
  • 1 1/4 cup water
  • curry powder

 

Chicken

Spray slow cooker (or place slow cooker liner in pot and spray) with non stick cooking spray.  Rinse chicken (remove giblets) and pat dry.  Mix ingredients salt through black pepper and rub all over chicken.  Halve one lemon and place inside of cavity.  Chop off top of garlic and place inside of cavity.  take half of onion and place 1/4 inside of cavity and slice the other 1/4 and put in bottom of slow cooker.  Place chicken on top of onions cover and cook low for 8 hours or high for 4.

 

Curry Onion Rice

Melt 2 Tbsp of butter into medium saucepan.  Add remaining half of onion (chopped) and 1 cup of dry rice.  Cook for around 2-3 minutes, lightly toasting rice and cooking onion.  Add lemon zest and juice of one lemon while toasting rice.  Sprinkle curry powder (I did not measur but probably around 2-3 tsp). Once fragrant add water and broth and bring to a boil.  Stir once, cover, and simmer for 45 minutes.  Remove from heat and let stand 10 minutes.  Fluff with fork, add salt & pepper, and then grab a giant spoon and dig in!!

Leave a Reply

