Say What!?

Standard

So my biggest guilty pleasure in the WORLD is Magic Shell.  I can go through a bottle in three days (and that’s me being stingy with the portion control).  If I am having a bad day there is nothing that will cheer me up more than a giant bowl of Mayfield’s Moose Tracks drenched in fudgy chocolate that mysteriously hardens.  I have tried to cut back and only buy this delicious addiction when times are seriously tough.  I realized that besides it being extremely fattening, I couldn’t pronounce half of the ingredients.  I randomly stumbled across a homemade version and tears almost emerged.  I have yet to try this, but if it is a success then my pants may need to be tailored soon!

 

* recipe can be found at This Chick Cooks or originally from Skip to my Lou

 

 

Homemade Magic Shell

Homemade Magic Shell from This Chick Cooks

  • 2 Tbsp chocolate chips
  • 1 Tbsp Coconut Oil

 

Preparation:

You can use the stove top or the microwave to make these.

 
To heat them on the stove, fill a pan with water and sit a bowl into the water bath. Put the chips and oil into the bowl and cook over medium until melted, stirring frequently.

 
Or, use the microwave by melting the chips and coconut oil in a bowl at 50% power, stirring every 15-30 seconds until they are completely melted.

One response »

  1. I was skeptical at first and was about to go buy Magic Shell (bc what can honestly be as good?)… but I was too lazy and decided to go ahead and try this version out and………. it was delicious! I used 3 Tbsp chocolate chips and 1 1/5 coconut oil and it was plenty. Next time I will use the amount recommended and it should be more than enough. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

