Comfort Soup to the Rescue

Standard

I don’t know about anyone else but I felt terrible this past week and weekend so of course my mind jumps to, “food will make me feel better!”  I am not a fan of soup and I am not sure if it is because of the texture or just my lack of soup knowledge, but this is what my sick little body was craving so I went for it.  It was quite a coincidence while watching my recorded Rachael Ray’s that she made a lazy day tomato soup so here was my chance to put my soup phobia behind me.  This was super easy to make and makes your house smell delicious.  It does take over 3 hours to make,  but the majority of that time you are free to tidy the house or sleep on the couch like me!  I hope you enjoy! (I also made smoked mozzarella grilled cheeses to dip in the soup so I will add those ingredients too).

 

* recipe can be found at Rachael Ray Show website

 

Slow Cooking, Lazy Soup: Roasted Tomato & Roasted Garlic Soup

  • 2 heads garlic
  • EVOO – Extra Virgin Olive Oil, for drizzling plus 2 tablespoons
  • Salt and pepper
  • 12 plum or Roma tomatoes, halved lengthwise
  • 2 tablespoons fresh herbs, such as chopped fresh thyme, rosemary, parsley (I used dried)
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 1 can Italian tomatoes or crushed tomatoes
  • 1 quart chicken or vegetable stock (I used about 1 cup, we liked our soup thick)
  • A generous handful of basil, shredded or torn

Extra:

  • Good quality white or wheat bread
  • Sliced smoked mozzarella cheese
  • Butter

 

 

Preparation:

 

Preheat oven to 425°F.

 

Cut the end off the heads of garlic, drizzle with EVOO and season with salt and pepper. Wrap them in foil and roast to soft, 40-45 minutes.

 

Reduce heat to 300°F. Arrange halved tomatoes on a cooking rack set on a baking sheet so heat can circulate around the tomatoes. Drizzle with EVOO and season with salt, pepper and herbs of choice. Roast 2 hours.

 

When tomatoes are done, sauté onions in EVOO, a turn of the pan, until soft, 10 minutes. Place roasted garlic cloves, half the roasted tomatoes, onions and canned tomatoes in a food processor, and purée until smooth. Place tomato base in a pot with the stock and stir to combine and heat through.

 

Heat skillet over medium.  Butter 1 side of each piece of bread.  Place buttered piece of bread on skillet (butter side down), add cheese slices and top with other buttered piece of bread (butter side up).

 

Chop remaining roasted tomatoes then stir into soup to give the soup some texture. Serve in shallow bowls with  grilled cheese sandwiches alongside.

 

Leave a Reply

