Onion Showdown

Standard

Last night we had friends over to watch Summer Slam (for those who don’t know, it’s a wrestling pay per view) and we ate elk burgers, Vidalia onion casserole and Taylor’s amazing cookies (I will post cookie recipe later).   I usually over plan when we have guests and we’re left with tons of leftovers.  This time I “let” myself make only one side dish and I tried to find something quick and easy.  I thumbed through my recipe binder that was given to me at a wedding shower and it is filled with recipe cards that various friends and family filled out.  I stumbled across a Vidalia Onion Casserole card that sounded amazing and let me tell you it was very good.  I am going to post this exact recipe and then another Vidalia Onion Casserole recipe that I found online.  I have not made the second casserole, but it does include some of the flavors I thought the first was missing.  Despite the fact that it was missing something for me, the casserole was completely devoured and the reviews were outstanding.  I say try them both and have an onion showdown!

* I found a similar recipe for the Vidalia onion casserole #1 (the recipe card one) online at CDK.  Some of the measurements are a little different but I would use as much or as little as you like, enjoy!

Vidalia Onion Casserole #1

  • 1/4 cup unsalted butter
  • 1/2 cup uncooked rice
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 2/3 cup half/half or evaporated milk
  • 4 medium Vidalia onions, sliced
  • 5 cups silvered swiss cheese (I shredded)
  • paprika

 

Preparation:

Preheat oven to 325 °.  Melt butter in heavy skillet.  Saute onions in butter until soft (about 15 minutes).  Cook rice in boiling salted water for 5 minutes and drain well.  Blend rice, onions, cheese, and milk.  Pour into a greased shallow baking dish.  Bake for 1 hour and sprinkle with paprika before serving.  This dish can be served warm or at room temperature.

 

 

Vidalia Onion Casserole #2

  • 1/2 c. butter
  • 4 med. Vidalia onions, sliced in 1/4″ rings
  • 15 saltine crackers, crushed (I will most likely use Ritz bc I am a HUGE fan!)
  • 1 can cream of mushroom soup
  • 2 eggs, beaten
  • 1/2-3/4 c. milk
  • 1 c. shredded sharp cheddar cheese

 

Preparation:

Melt butter in a large fry pan, saute onions over medium heat until clear. Reserve 3 tablespoons of cracker crumbs for topping and place remaining crumbs in the bottom of a lightly greased 2 quart casserole. Remove onions from pan with a slotted spoon. Add soup and onions in alternating layers until full. Combine eggs and milk, pour over onions. Top with cheese and remaining cracker crumbs. Bake at 350 degrees for 20 to 30 minutes or until brown and bubbly.

Leave a Reply

