The Chicks Dig It!

Standard

I was planning on having some friends over for a healthy mexican meal tonight but my manly wrestling husband caught me off guard and told me to call off the troops bc it’s date night!  After I picked my jaw up off the floor my mind immediately went to food and I am still debating about healthy mexican or carb heavy italian…… Here is the meal I was planning on making and if I do end up cooking it I will write back with comments.

* recipe can be found at skinnytaste

Chicken Ropa Vieja

  • 3 chicken breast halves
  • 1 small onion, quartered
  • 1 tomato, quartered
  • 1 carrot, peeled and chopped
  • 2 cloves garlic, peeled
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 small onion, thinly sliced
  • 1 small green bell pepper, seeded and thinly sliced
  • 1 small red bell pepper, seeded and thinly sliced
  • 1/4 cup dry white wine
  • 1/2 cup tomato sauce
  • reserved broth
  • 1 tsp cumin, or more to taste (I like a lot)
  • garlic powder
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • chips
  • shredded lettuce
  • cheese
  • salsa
  • guacamole
  • Mary’s Drink

 

Preparation:

Place chicken, onion, tomato, carrot, and 2 cloves of garlic into crock pot. Add water to cover, and set to high for 4 hours until the chicken is tender. If cooking on the stove, cook on medium-low, and simmer until the chicken is tender, 30 to 40 minutes. Place the chicken into a bowl and shred it into strips using a fork; set aside. Reserve the liquid.

In a large deep skillet, heat olive oil over medium heat. Add the garlic, onions, green peppers, and red peppers. Cook about 3 to 4 minutes. Stir in chicken, tomato sauce, white wine, and about 3/4 cup of the reserved broth to create a nice sauce. Season with cumin, garlic powder salt, and pepper. Cover and simmer on low for about 10 minutes more adding more broth and seasoning if needed. Makes 4 cups.

Tips:

I plan on serving with Rachael Ray’s Pomegranate Guacamole.  Buy some chips, tortillas, and lettuce and make some awesome TACOS and serve with Mary’s “I’m on a boat” drink!!  (Click on link and the recipe will post under this one)

One response »

  1. This was AWESOME!!! The chicken was delicious and juicy. I have always had a problem with reducing liquid in recipes and I was super impatient so I used a slotted spoon to serve the chicken. We had Rach’s guacamole and Mary’s Drink for appetizers and after devouring a pitcher of tequila and 2 bags of chips we made taco salads with the chicken. I can’t tell you enough how easy this was to prepare. The slow cooker does the majority of the work which gives you ample time to snack and sip. I hope you guys try this one out!

Leave a Reply

