Speaking of Butter…..

Standard

This is another great recipe from the Tasty Kitchen website.  I made this for our Valentines dinner and it was ASWESOME!  The goal of my blog is to try different recipes out and let you know what I think or what I would do differently.  The key to this Butter Chicken is to make sure you have some good quality chicken.  Hope you enjoy as much as we did!

* Go to Tasty Kitchen for step-by-step instructions with pictures!

Butter Chicken

  • 4 pieces Boneless, Skinless Chicken Breasts (Good quality, we used fresh, organic , grass-fed chicken)
  • 5 cloves Garlic, Minced
  • 1 teaspoon Salt
  • ½ teaspoons Black Pepper
  • ½ teaspoons Cayenne Pepper (I used 1/4 bc Will is a wimp)
  • ¼ teaspoons Ground Coriander
  • ¼ teaspoons Cumin
  • ¼ teaspoons Cardamom
  • 1 whole Lime, Juiced
  • 1 whole Onion, Diced
  • ¼ cups Butter
  • 1 can (14.5 Oz. Can) Tomato Sauce
  • 1 can (14.5 Oz. Can) Petite Diced Tomatoes
  • 1 pint Whipping Cream (We used a TINY splash)
  • 1 bunch Chopped Cilantro, to taste (Omitted)
  • 2 cups Basmati Rice (or However Much You Want) (Omitted)

 

Preparation:

  1. Combine first 9 ingredients and marinate overnight.
  2. Saute the onion in the butter until soft. Add marinated chicken and cook about 10 minutes. Add the tomato sauce and diced tomatoes. Cook for 30 minutes over medium-low heat with the lid on. Add the whipping cream (I have used light cream or half-and-half also) and cilantro just before serving over Basmati rice.

Note: this is a little spicy, but you can cut back on the cayenne if you want.

Tips:

  • I lightly tenderized the chicken before marinating.  I marinated the chicken starting at 7:00am and cooked it around 7:00pm. 12 hours was plenty.
  • I omitted cilantro because we did not have any and the meal was still unbelievable.  It had more of an Italian feel, but if I had used cilantro I am sure it would have tasted a little more Mexican.
  • We were trying to be healthy so we cut out the rice and whole pint of cream.  We did not miss it at all.  If I were to add a grain to this meal I would probably add angel hair pasta and no cilantro.  I literally did a quick splash of cream and it was very subtle but great flavor.
Leave a Reply

