Game Time!

Standard

I am constantly watching cooking shows and by now you all should obviously know that I DVR Rachael Ray daily.  I have never been a fan of chili, mainly because I am not a big meat person and I HATE beans.  I could not escape all the chili recipes that were thrown in my face the past couple of weeks for the Super Bowl.  I found one that I thought looked like it would taste good and I ran with it.  This recipe was super easy, in-expensive and the flavor was great.  It will probably become a wine night meal soon.  Enjoy.

*recipe can be found at Rachael Ray Show.

Barbecued Chili

  • 1 tablespoon EVOO – Extra Virgin Olive Oil
  • 3 slices thick-cut bacon, chopped
  • 2 pounds ground sirloin, pork, turkey or chicken
  • 1/4 cup Worcestershire sauce
  • 1 onion, finely chopped
  • 3 to 4 cloves garlic, finely chopped
  • Black pepper
  • 2 tablespoons chili powder
  • 1 tablespoon smoked paprika
  • 1 cup beer
  • 2 cups beef stock or chicken stock
  • 3 tablespoons cider or wine vinegar
  • 3 tablespoons brown sugar
  • 2 cups tomato sauce
  • 1 box cornbread, prepared to package directions
  • 2 to 3 thin scallions, finely chopped
  • Butter, for greasing muffin tin
  • Optional toppings for chili: Shredded sharp yellow cheddar, finely chopped red onions, chopped dill pickles

 

Preparation:

  1. Heat a large Dutch oven or heavy pot over medium-high heat with EVOO. Add bacon and cook 3 minutes to render fat then remove to a paper towel-lined plate and reserve.
  2. Add meat to drippings and brown until dark. Season with Worcestershire sauce then add onions and garlic, and season with black pepper. Cook a couple of minutes more to soften veggies. Add chili powder and paprika, add reserved bacon back to pot and stir in beer. Reduce a minute then add stock. Combine vinegar, brown sugar and tomato sauce then stir mixture into chili. Bring to a bubble, reduce heat and let simmer. (I am an idiot and I can never get anything to thicken so I added 1tbsp of cornstarch diluted with 3 tbsp water to the chili the last 10 minutes and it was perfect)
  3. Prepare corn muffin mix to package directions, adding scallions into mix. Grease a muffin tin and fill with corn muffin mix. Bake to package directions. ( I did not add scallions.  Instead I added a turn of maple syrup to the batter……yum!)
  4. Serve warm muffins topped with chili, cheese, onions and pickles. (I would not recommend the raw red onions.  The pickles were great in the chili and we used the leftover aged provolone and it was delicious!)
Leave a Reply

