Fit in Your Jeans Spaghetti

Standard

So the past few weeks have been busy, but that has not slowed down the cooking.  Lately I have been watching a lot of Rachel Ray and I have been trying to pick up some new ideas and cooking techniques.  In the next few weeks I will add some of my favorite recipes that I have cooked over the past few months, but the one that you’re about to read is AMAZING!!!  It is so good that Will and I are on our third night in the past week of cooking it.  It is super easy and SUPER good for you.  Enjoy.

 

*Here is a video of Rachel cooking a spaghetti squash and there is an alternate meat sauce if you prefer hers.  FYI the sauce that I have listed below is a version of a 0 points weight watchers recipe that I used years ago.

 

Spaghetti Squash

  • 1 spaghetti squash (yes there is an actual squash called spaghetti squash) per 2 people.
  • olive oil
  • salt
  • pepper
  • parmesan cheese
  • 1 (28oz) can crushed tomatoes (I use basil or fire roasted)
  • italian seasoning
  • crushed red pepper flakes
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 4 cloves chopped or minced garlic
  • crumbled cooked meat: turkey, beef, chicken (optional)

 

Preparation:

Preheat oven to 400°

 

Carefully cut the spaghetti squash in half from stem to bottom.  Spoon out the inside  like you would a pumpkin.  Drizzle with olive oil and season with salt and pepper.  Turn squash cut side down on baking sheet and cook for 40-45 minutes.

 

When 20 minutes is left on the clock for the squash start chopping the onion.  Drizzle olive oil in the bottom of a medium sauce pan over medium high heat and add onions and cook until translucent.  Next add garlic and cook for a few minutes more.  Carefully add the tomatoes, 1-2 tsp italian seasoning and 1-2 tsp red pepper flakes (add as much or as little of seasonings as you like).

 

While the onions and garlic are cooking start browning the meat in a large skillet if you are wanting a meat sauce.  Once meat has browned add to the tomato sauce and let simmer until thickened and the squash is done.

 

When the squash has finished cooking use oven mitts and turn over.  Use a fork to shred inside of the squash to make spaghetti strings. Add more pepper, salt, olive oil, and cheese to the spaghetti and mix together.  Top off with the tomato sauce and eat right out of the squash!

2 responses »

  1. Hi Meredith!
    Kimberly Perry Roeder is my daughter and she directed me to this recipe. I made it last night for dinner and it was yummy! I served grilled chicken on top of the squash. The squash was so big, we had it again tonight!
    Thanks for sharing!
    Liz Perry

    • I am so glad you enjoyed it! This is one of my favorites to make and I feel super skinny the next day even though I feel like I ate A TON!!

Leave a Reply

