Easy Breezy Pimiento Cheesey

Standard

I am not a fan of mayonnaise and that is the main reason why I hated pimiento cheese.  Last year at one of my bridal showers Mrs. McCoy made her famous homemade pimiento cheese and it was AWESOME!  I asked her for the recipe so I could monitor how much of the dreaded mayo went into the dip and I now consider it one of my staple party foods.  Enjoy!

 

Mrs. McCoy’s Pimiento Cheese

  • 1 1/2 cups mayo (Mrs. McCoy suggest Duke’s, but I use Kraft’s Olive Oil Mayo.  It has less fat and I don’t use the full 1 1/2 cups to make it less creamy)
  • 1 (4oz) jar diced pimientos, drained
  • 1 tsp Worcestershire sauce (I use the Tabasco brand, it adds a little kick)
  • 1 tsp finely grated onion
  • 1/4 tsp ground red pepper
  • 1 small jar of sliced or chopped jalapeno peppers.  Add as much or as little as you like.
  • 1/2 lb or 2 blocks of Kraft X-tra Sharp Cheddar cheese (red package and shred into normal size shreds)
  • Fritos

* I use Fritos, but you can use any chip or bread you like.

 

Preparation

Stir first six ingredients together in a large bowl.  Add cheese.  Can store in refrigerator up to one week.

One response »

  1. Mrs. McCoys is the best pimento cheese I have ever tasted! Can’t imagine making it healthy would improve it , I will have to try. On a side note if ever you don’t have time to make it from scratch a brand called Palmetto Pimento cheese is awesome! It is sold at Publix in the seafood section (have no idea why).

Leave a Reply

