Good Ol’ Southern Fun

Standard

As you probably noticed I like to plan my cooking and I enjoy thinking about what I need and what I want to eat.  I found a recipe on a fellow bloggers website for fried green tomatoes …. and they look awesome!  I plan on adding this as a side with my BBQ this weekend and I can’t wait.  Will and I have been growing our own tomatoes for a while now and the plants have consumed our yard.  This will be our first time cooking some up so I will definitely check back with you and let you know how it went.

* recipe can be found at Something’s Burning website.

 

Fried Green Tomatoes

  • 2 cups cornmeal
  • 2 Tablespoons sugar
  • 1 Tablespoon Salt
  • 1 Teaspoon Pepper
  • 2 pinches of Cayenne Pepper
  • 1 1/2 cups Sour Cream
  • 4 large green tomatoes, sliced 1/2 inch thick
  • 1/2 cup vegetable oil, plus more as needed

 

Preparation

In a large bowl, combine the dry ingredients and pour the sour cream in a separate bowl.  You could use buttermilk instead of sour cream.

 

Dredge the tomatoes in the sour cream and then into the cornmeal mixture coating each side.

 

Heat oil in a large cast-iron skillet over medium to medium high heat and fry the tomato slices.  Fry until they are golden brown and crisp.  

 

About 3 or 4 minutes on each side.  Dip them out with a fork and let most of the grease drip away and then place on a paper-towel lined plate.  Serve hot like this.

One response »

  1. The fried green tomatoes were a huge hit with the husband. I really enjoyed them, but for someone who is not supposed to eat tomatoes or fried food I definitely paid for them later with an upset stomach.

    The cornmeal batter is awesome and has a cornbread consistency that is fantastic. I cut some Vidalia onions as well and fried them and they were delicious.

    We fried the tomatoes and onions in a fryer outside (the smell is over powering) and it worked well. We had a fire incident inside one time so I prefer to use a fryer and not the stove.

    Will suggested using peanut oil instead of vegetable oil, but I wanted to follow the directions the first time making this. The next time I will try peanut oil because I do think it has a better flavor to it…. and yes there will be a next time!

Leave a Reply

