Rainy Day Casserole

Standard

This is one of my favorite casseroles to make.  It is a simple chicken casserole, but it is great comfort food.  Elizabeth M. introduced me to this recipe the first time we were in Vail.  I am a very picky eater so I didn’t  think I was going to like it, but 5 years later I am still cooking it.  I am going to put the ingredients that I buy to make it a little healthier but feel free to buy the normal food as well.

 

Elizabeth’s Chicken Casserole

  • 1 box multi-grain or whole wheat rotini pasta (I use Southern Home)
  • 2 large cans Tyson white meat cooked chicken (substitute shredded rotisserie chicken)
  • 2 cans healthy request cream of chicken soup (substitute herb or regular for more taste)
  • 8 oz reduced fat sour cream
  • 1-2 tbs poppy seeds
  • 1/2 stick melted butter
  • 1 sleeve whole wheat Ritz Crackers

 Tip:

Ashley L. had a great idea to add 1/2 of an onion into the mix.  She first heats up some olive oil and then sautes the onion while the noodles are cooking.  This a simple and delicious way to change the taste of the entire casserole!

Preparation

Preheat oven to 350° and boil water for pasta.

 

While water boils combine chicken, cream of chicken, sour cream, and poppy seeds into large bowl.

 

Cook pasta according to box.  While pasta cooks melt butter and crunch up the sleeve of Ritz crackers.

 

Drain pasta and add to large chicken mixture.  Mix well and pour into casserole dish.  Sprinkler Ritz over top and evenly pour melted buter on top of crackers.  Bake for 30 minutes.

One response »

  1. I got this recipe from your sister….we love it and have done it many times! The last time I did it I had bell peppers leftover from fajitas and I added them. It was a great way to make it a little different!

Leave a Reply

