Kick Starting On A Tuesday

Standard

Hey everyone!  I hope you all had a great Memorial Day weekend.  I have been traveling since Wednesday driving to D.C. and Philadelphia.  I apologize for slacking on the posts, but I am back and at it today (and so is my healthy eating).  If you’re like me you definitely had a great break and enjoyed all of the food that our fine country has to offer, but now it is time to get back to the “real world.”  Tonight I am cooking a meal that my friend Catherine ( a fellow Tucker alum) introduced me to.  We were both in a wedding together recently and I was commenting on how great she looks and she very nicely shared one of her and her mothers favorite recipes with me.  Try it out and let me know how it goes.

Catherine’s Sausage Stir Fry

  • 1 pound hot bulk sausage (or spicy turkey sausage)
  • 1/4 cup chopped green pepper
  • 1/4 cup chopped onion
  • 1 (16oz) can diced tomatoes
  • 1 cup uncooked wheat rotini or penne pasta (anything but spaghetti)
  • 1/8 tsp italian seasoning
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/8 tsp pepper
  • dash of chili powder
  • 1/2 cup 2% mozarella cheese

 

 

Preparation

 

Bown sausage in skillet and drain off grease

 

Reduce heat; add pepper, onion, tomatoes, pasta and seasoning.

 

Cover and simmer 25 minutes (Stir occasionally).

 

Uncover and simmer 10 more minutes.

 

Once liquid is absorbed and pasta is cooked sprinkle with cheese and let melt.

 

Eat and enjoy!

 

Notes:

I buy 1lb Italian turkey sausage, 1/2 spicy and 1/2 sweet, and remove them from their casings.  I use whole peppers of whatever kinds look the freshest (usually “stoplight peppers” green, red, and yellow).  I use 1 (14.5 oz) can of diced tomatoes in sauce and pour all tomatoes and sauce in.

Leave a Reply

