Bev’s Cheese Wafers

Standard

Below is a recipe that my mom has not stopped talking about.  I have not tried to make them yet, but I am definitely a finger food type of girl so I can’t wait to bake these up.

Parmesan and Thyme Crackers

  • 1 stick unsalted butter, room temperature
  • 4 oz. freshly grated Parmesan cheese (about 1 cup – NOT the “shake” stuff out of the can)
  • 1 tsp minced fresh thyme leaves (just “strip” the stems and try not to have any “sticks” in the leaves)
  • 1/2 tsp Kosher salt
  • 1/2 tsp black pepper
  • 1 1/4 cups all purpose flour

 

Preparation

 Cream butter for 1 minute on low speed.
Add the Parmesan cheese, thyme leaves, salt and pepper.
Mix on low and combine well
Slowly add the flour and mix until you have “large crumbles” – should take about a minute or so.
Dump dough onto a floured board and press into a ball.
Roll the ball into a 9 inch log.
Chill dough in fridge at least  30 minutes and up to to 4 days (I made the dough the night before and baked them the next morning)
Make slices 3/8 inch thick and put on parchment paper (I put them on my Silpat) on cookie sheet.
Allow slices to come to room temperature, then bake at 350 degrees for 22 minutes, til very lightly browned.  (I started watching them at 18 minutes or so)
(I think I got 12-14 slices out of each log – of course if I had known how to make a 3/8 inch slice I could tell you exactly how many you would get….SORRY!)

Leave a Reply

